Mohammed Shami replaces injured Jasprit Bumrah in India’s T20 World Cup squad

Mohammed Shami has replaced the injured Jasprit Bumrah in India’s 15-man cricket squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup, which begins in Australia on October 16. Shami was originally included in the T20 World Cup squad standby list but a stress-related injury to his back ruled Bumrah out of the mega-event and that opened the doors for the experienced pacesetter. Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur have been named as backups and will be traveling to Australia shortly. Deepak Chahar was also in contention for the spot that Bumrah had vacated but his recent battle with an injury kept him out of contention. India kicks off their T20 World Cup campaign on October 23 with a match against arch-rivals Pakistan.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has appointed Mohammed Shami to replace Jasprit Bumrah in the Indian Men’s ICC T20 World Championship squad. Shami has reached Australia and will link with the squad ahead of the warm-up games in Brisbane,” the BCCI said in a statement on Friday.

“Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur have been named as backups and will be traveling to Australia shortly.”

Shami had last played at T20 Internationals during the last edition of the ICC T20 World Cup in UAE. He was due to play Australia and South Africa at home in the six T20Is but has tested positive for CIVID-19 and has had to remain in isolation. On return, he had to prove his fitness before the NCA approved his trip to Australia. Shami played 17 T20Is and took 18 wickets.

The Indian fast bowling line-up now includes Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel and Arshdeep Singh. Previously, several former cricketers and ex-BCCI selectors including Dilip Vengsarkar and Krishnamachari Srikkanth said they would have liked to see Shami in the squad. Shami had a great run for the IPL 2022 champions Gujarat Titans, picking 20 wickets in 16 games with an 18.30 batting average. Its economy was 8.00 RPO. He was GT’s top wicket-taker in the competition.


India’s squad for the ICC T20 World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (Goalkeeper), Dinesh Karthik (Goalkeeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, and Mohammed Shami.

With PTI inputs

Topics mentioned in this article

Supply Hyperlink

Leave a Comment