Prithvi Shaw achieves a fantastic half century as Mumbai defeats Mizoram in Syed Mushtaq Ali’s T20 Trophy

Dashing opener Prithvi Shaw’s flashing blade decimated Mizoram as Mumbai kicked off their campaign in style on Tuesday with a nine wicket win in Group A’s first league match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy at Rajkot. After Mizoram was restricted at 98 for 8 in 20 overs, Mumbai mustered the required runs in just 10.3 overs, with Shaw going unbeaten on 55 balls from 34. He and Aman Hakim Khan (39 without 22 balls) added 91 runs in just 8.4 overs to finish the match in the blink of an eye. When Mizoram struck, Shreevat’s Goswami (31) was the only significant scorer but Mumbai’s experienced attack, led by Dhawal Kulkarni, kept the minnows in check.

Dhawal and Spin twins Shams Mulani and Tanush Kotian got a couple of wickets each.

As the Mumbai chase began, skipper Ajinkya Rahane was sacked cheaply for 9, but Shaw smashed nine fours and a six to end proceedings quickly. Aman also hit five fours and two sixes.

Summary Results (Group A) Mizoram: 98/8 (Shreevats Goswami 31, Dhawal Kulkarni 2/16, Tanush Kotian 2/12, Shams Mulani 2/20). Mumbai 103/1 in 10.3 overs (Prithvi Shaw 55 without 34 balls, Ajinkya Rahane 9). Mumbai won by 9 wickets Railways: 150/6 (Upendra Yadav 67 from 52 balls, B Vivek Singh 68 from 49 balls, A Madhwal 4/25). Uttarakhand 154/3 ​​(Jiwanjot Singh 77 not from 55 balls). Uttarakhand won by 7 wickets.

Assam: 161/5 (Rahul Hazarika 68 from 52 balls, Riyan Parag 19, Darshan Nalkande 2/31). Vidarbha 162/4 (Akshay Wadkar 49 from 38 balls, Aman Mokhade 40 from 32 balls). Vidarbha won by 6 wickets.

Mohit, Mishra star in thrilling win for Haryana

Mullanpur: Veteran sailor Mohit Sharma and veteran spinner Amit Mishra dug deep into their reserves as Haryana ousted Services by 1 run in a thrilling Group C match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy. Haryana, who batted first, was seeded for 126 in 18.2 overs, with Sumit Kumar (24) and Shivam Chouhan (23) crossing the 20-run mark. Off-spinner Pulkit Narang took 3/18 for services.

In response, Services rode 78 for 3 in the 15th over but eventually finished with 125 for 7 in 20 overs.

Mishra was the top Haryana bowler with counts of 2/21 in 4 overs while Rahul Tewatia received 2/18 in his 2 overs.

Mohit, who was an Indian white ball regular in 2015, scored 1/24 in 4 overs.

Services skipper Rajat Paliwal at 35 best.

Summary Results Haryana 126 all in 18.2 overs (Sumit Kumar 24, Pulkit Narang 3/18).

Serves 125/7 in 20 overs (Rajat Paliwal 35, Amit Mishra 2/21, Rahul Tewatia 2/18). Haryan won by 1 run.


Jammu and Kashmir 81/3 in 9 overs (Abdul Samad 22 from 12 balls) Meghalaya 85/2 in 7.3 overs (Punit Bisht 51 not from 23 balls). Meghalaya won by 8 wickets.

Karnataka 215/2 (Devdutt Padikkal 124 from 62 balls, Manish Pandey 50) Maharashtra 116/8 (Vidhwath Kaderappa 3/19). Karnataka won by 99 runs.

Topics mentioned in this article

Supply Hyperlink

Leave a Comment