Roger Binny has submitted nomination for BCCI President, unopposed: Rajeev Shukla

Vice President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), Rajeev Shukla, said Tuesday that former cricketer Roger Binny has submitted a nomination for the post of chief executive and Ashish Shelar of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has submitted a nomination as Treasurer submitted, and they are likely to be unopposed. “I submitted the nomination for Vice President, Roger Binny submitted the nomination for President, Jay Shah submitted for Secretary and Ashish Shelar for Treasurer. As of now, the situation is that everyone will be appointed unopposed,” he told Shukla when interacting with the media.

Shukla said India’s representative for the post of 16-member International Cricket Council (ICC) board chairman will be decided on October 18 at the board’s annual general meeting. Former BCCI secretary Niranjan Shah also said nominations had been submitted for all posts. “I don’t think there will be an election,” he added.

Former Indian cricketer and member of the 1983 World Cup winning team Roger Binny is likely to be the next BCCI president, replacing Sourav Ganguly, while BJP MLA Ashish Shelar is likely to be the treasurer, replacing Arun Dhumal, according to sources on the Board of Control for Cricket emerges in India. Jay Shah will retain his position as BCCI Secretary.

At a BCCI meeting held at the Trident Hotel in Mumbai on Tuesday, all officers from different parts of the country from different associations submitted nominations for various board positions.

Discussions took place at the BCCI internal meeting ahead of elections scheduled for October 18th. Rajeev Shukla, senior administrator of BCCI, will remain vice president of the board, while Ashish Sellar is likely to take the place of new treasurer Arun Dumal.

Binny was previously a member of the BCCI selection committee and is also a member of the 1983 World Cup winning team. Former pacemaker Roger Binny is said to be the frontrunner to replace Ganguly as BCCI President. Binny, 67, is currently the President of the Karnataka State Cricket Association.

Nominations can be submitted on October 11th and 12th, nominations will be reviewed on October 13th and candidates have until October 14th to withdraw their nominations.


Sourav Ganguly, the current President of the BCCI, is listed as India’s representative for the post of 16-member Executive Chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC), whose elections are scheduled for this November.

(This story was not edited by NDTV staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Topics mentioned in this article

Supply Hyperlink

Leave a Comment