Shaw makes short work of Mizoram

Dashing opening game Prithvi Shaw’s blazing blade decimated Mizoram as Mumbai kicked off their campaign in style with a nine-wicket victory in Group A’s first league game of the Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy.

After Mizoram was restricted at 98 for 8 in 20 overs, Mumbai mustered the required runs in just 10.3 overs, with Shaw going unbeaten on 55 balls from 34. He and Aman Hakim Khan (39 without 22 balls) added 91 runs in just 8.4 overs to finish the match in the blink of an eye. When Mizoram struck, Shreevat’s Goswami (31) was the only significant scorer but Mumbai’s experienced attack, led by Dhawal Kulkarni, kept the minnows in check.

Dhawal and Spin twins Shams Mulani and Tanush Kotian got a couple of wickets each. As the Mumbai chase began, skipper Ajinkya Rahane was sacked cheaply for 9, but Shaw smashed nine fours and a six to end proceedings quickly. Aman also hit five fours and two sixes.

Summary Results (Group A)
Mizoram: 98/8 (Shreevat’s Goswami 31, Dhawal Kulkarni 2/16, Tanush Kotian 2/12, Shams Mulani 2/20). Mumbai 103/1 in 10.3 overs (Prithvi Shaw 55 without 34 balls, Ajinkya Rahane 9). Mumbai won by 9 wickets

Railways: 150/6 (Upendra Yadav 67 from 52 balls, B Vivek Singh 68 from 49 balls, A Madhwal 4/25). Uttarakhand 154/3 ​​(Jiwanjot Singh 77 not from 55 balls). Uttarakhand won by 7 wickets.

Assam: 161/5 (Rahul Hazarika 68 from 52 balls, Riyan Parag 19, Darshan Nalkande 2/31). Vidarbha 162/4 (Akshay Wadkar 49 from 38 balls, Aman Mokhade 40 from 32 balls). Vidarbha won by 6 wickets.

Supply Hyperlink

Leave a Comment