Tharoor before Congressional Prez polls

A day before Congressional presidential elections begin, candidate Shashi Tharoor said he will work with his opponent Mallikarjun Kharge if he wins the election.

Speaking to ANI, the Thiruvananthapuram MP said that although he wanted to change the way Congress worked, he did not differentiate his ideology from Kharge’s.

“There is no problem with our ideology but I would like to change the way we work… Mallikarjun Kharge is an experienced leader, if he wins we will of course work together,” Tharoor was quoted as saying by the ANI news agency.

Meanwhile, Shashi Tharoor tweeted on Sunday that the electoral authority for the presidential election had changed the voting requirement from the spelling “1” against the preferred candidate’s name to a tick.

Tharoor’s team had previously discussed with the head of the party’s central electoral authority the issuance of a directive urging PCC delegates to vote on the ballot on which Mallikarjun Kharge has the serial number “1” and Tharoor has a “1” next to it Name of their choice to tick “2”.

Congressional Prez Polls

After nearly 25 years, Congress will elect a non-Gandhi party leader, with senior Congress leaders Mallikarjun Kharge and Shashi Tharoor going head-to-head in a historic campaign on Monday.

The election will take place on October 17th, after which the name of the new party leader will be announced on October 19th. Over 9,000 delegates from the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) form the electoral college that will elect the party leader in a secret ballot. Voting will take place at the All India Congress Committee (AICC) headquarters in Delhi and in over 65 polling booths across the country. Delegates in all states will vote between 10:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. at their respective polling stations with a “tick” for the candidate they support, Central Electoral Authority Congress chairman Madhusudan Mistry said.

While party leader Sonia Gandhi and Congress Secretary-General Priyanka Gandhi Vadra are expected to vote at the AICC headquarters, Rahul Gandhi along with around 40 other Bharat Yatris who are PCC delegates will vote at the Bharat Jodo Yatra campground in Karnataka’s Sanganakallu in Ballari. AICC General Secretaries/Heads of State, secretaries and joint secretaries may not vote in their assigned state.

Read all Latest political news and Breaking News here

Supply Hyperlink

Leave a Comment